Slice of Life- 22/31- Pet Painting

I have a dog.                                                                                                                                I have a dog chosen by my daughter and my husband.                                                    I have a dog whose ear-piercing bark welcomes any passerby.                                        Today I painted that dog.                                                                                                          More specifically, I painted a portrait of the dog.                                                              I spent three hours breaking the dog down to sections of grey and brown and black.                                                                                                                                            I mixed and dabbed, smeared and blended.                                                                        I attempted to capture the twinkle in his eye and the softness of his fur.                      I love a dog.

2 thoughts on “Slice of Life- 22/31- Pet Painting

  1. I love this poem. And the format too. At first I only read the left hand side. It was like a puzzle. Then finding the right hand side I reread with great delight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

