The Luxury of a Good Book- SOLC- #15/31

I love to read.  I have loved to read since I was small.  Some of my favorite memories growing up revolve around a good book.

The first book I remember loving was Charlotte’s Web.  I absolutely adored how E.B.White made the animals come alive.  Of course the reader forgot they were animals, as we related to these characters as human beings.  Templeton, the farm animals, Wilbur, and our precious Charlotte surrounded me on our brown leather chair as I was jetted to the farm.  This is the first time a novel brought me to tears; I knew Charlotte had to die, but I couldn’t bear watching her say good-bye.  Some book.

In grade school, I loved reading the biography series in my library.  Here I learned about Harriet Beacher Stowe, Florence Nightingale, and tons of other women and men that changed our world through some sort of achievement.  It didn’t take me long to work my way through all the selections.  The librarian was ready with her stamp when she saw me walk in the door.

Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island... She captured my heart and my mind as I raced through the Anne series.  I couldn’t…and didn’t…put it down.  I was visiting my PoPo the summer I read them.  When I refused to put the book away as we sped through the lake waters, he threatened to throw it over the side.  Only then did I put it away and “enjoy” the beauty around me.  All I was really thinking about was getting back to the book.

And now I have the luxury to read  again.  I purchased The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America a couple years ago.  It sat untouched in my reading basket.  As I was packing for a weekend get-away last Thursday, I tossed it in, just in case I had time to read.  The riveting prose has kept me awake late into the night.  Ignoring the desire to get caught up on my sleep this week, I plow through the fascinating details of Chicago’s World Fair.  As the Chicago Sun-Times notes, “Larson is a historian…with a novelist’s soul.”  The compelling blend of factual details within a narrative structure fascinates me.  Even though I know that the fair’s success changed history, I am intrigued by how everything fell into place, despite numerous conflicts and unimaginable setbacks.  Throw in a little  murder and mayhem, and the book is complete.  It’s one of those books that I simultaneously want to finish and keep on reading.

And enough of this writing! I need to get back to my book!

6 thoughts on “The Luxury of a Good Book- SOLC- #15/31

  1. I too am a lover of reading! And yes, I enjoy Erik Larson as well! I started Dead Wake, but haven’t had a chance to finish it yet. I love how he manages to weave in a fictional story around such important historical events! Very interesting! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Reading lover here as well. Late night slicer problem has definitely impacted my reading time! Check out Books for the Living, going to go read more of it right now…each chapter is about how a different book taught the author something or came to him at the right time in his life. Interesting to reflect on different books I have read at different times in my life.

    Like

  3. I think to love reading is to love writing. They go hand in hand for me. Your story made me remember being made fun of in school for reading in the hallway. I had mad skills and just needed to read one more page.

    Like

  4. It’s March Madness, so I’m reading a couple of books about basketball coaches and the influence they have on their teams. I love your selections and have wanted to read “Devil in a White City” for a while now. After your review, I need to get to our library and check it out for next week’s spring break! 🙂

    Thank you for sharing with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

